Blossom

On my way to my grandmother’s home to visit, my brother and I passed by the local mall to have a bit of lunch.  It turns out that there is an art exhibit called Blossom consisting of tiny daffodils, grass and bamboo.  In the middle of all this is a papier maché tree with origami flowers hung all over it.  I decided to take a picture of the bamboo and daffodils because it seemed to be more compelling to shoot them rather than the main attraction.  Besides, there were people snapping photos of it already; I didn’t want to be included in their photos.  I stay behind the camera, never in front.

I decided to feature the majority of the daffodils towards the middle of the photograph.  Now I know that putting the subject of your photograph in right in the centre is not very good composition, but that wasn’t all that was there.  The bamboo provided compelling geometry as well.  Also, I thought the line of daffodils in the middle would lead the eye from one side to the other and I think it does; in this case, the eye is led from right to left.

So the moral of the story is to not always shoot at the main attraction.  Photographs can be missed because one does not pay attention to the other parts of a scene.  Sometimes the subjects off to the side of the main attraction provide a more compelling shot.

Notes:
Taken with iPhone 4.
Edited with Best Camera App for iPhone.

This entry was published on March 4, 2011 at 12:01 am. It’s filed under iPhone Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

