Vino

Today’s photograph is a glass of wine, isolated from basically everything.  I wanted to try my hand at some product photography and I quickly realized that I needed much better lighting and that I’m not very good at it.  I’ve literally got no lighting equipment.  No lightboxes, strobes, flashes, stands and all the cool stuff that a studio ought to have.  I’m poor: it just works out that way.  Also, I haven’t any space to put that stuff when I’m not using it.  It just isn’t viable for me to do this type of photography, but I gave it a shot anyway.

So I fill up a wine glass with wine that was very much not going to be consumed by anyone anymore.  It had been a few days since the bottle was opened and the last remaining glass had fully oxidized and lost of all of its goodness; we tried resealing the bottle with the cork at the time but the air already in the opened bottle did its damage.

After filling the glass with the old wine, I placed it on the table and set about photographing the wine.  I uncluttered the table; nothing should be in the frame.  I removed paintings and the like attached to the wall.  Then I chose my camera position.  I decided that my angle of choice would be down low, almost shooting up at the glass.  It would make the glass look larger than life.  There’s nothing to relate the size of the glass.  It could be any size, really.

I decided against flash because all I can provide is direct flash with the pop-up flash on my DSLR.  I closed the aperture because I wanted the whole glass to be sharp.  It matters when the camera’s up close.  I tripped the shutter.  It’s a little too yellow.  Clearly, I need better lighting.  Photoshop will have to fix the photograph.  What came out after a few minutes on Photoshop is something that quite like actually.  I am definitely not going to be doing much more studio photography in colour any time soon though.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5 – 5.6 at 31.0mm.
Shutter Speed: 2.0s.
Aperture: f/11.0.
ISO 100.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

 

This entry was published on March 14, 2011 at 12:01 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

