Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

Another week, another Weekly Photo Challenge submission.  This week’s theme is Home and here is what I produced.  It is the window to my aunt’s home taken from the outside.  I spend a lot of time at my aunt’s home because my grandmother lives with her.  As such, I try to spend time with my grandmother at least once a week.  She’s getting quite elderly and she needs the company.  I’m happy to oblige.

Apart from the window itself, there are stairs leading to the second floor patio and I felt that I had to show the partial obstruction to the view of the window.  It adds a bit of movement to the stable and structured vertical and horizontal lines produced by the window and blinds.  Also, the sunlight seeping through the cracks in the staircase add another dimensionality to the lines.  In fact, this whole photograph is about the lines, which is why I chose to shoot in black and white; I felt that colour would take away from the strength of the lines.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 at 34.0mm.
Shutter Speed: 1/80s.
Aperture:  f/7.1.
Exposure Compensation: -0.67.
ISO 100.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on March 15, 2011 at 12:01 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

