Spring Break Carnival

It’s spring break this week in Vancouver and every year, the local mall hosts a carnival on its sizable parking lot. I happened to be there yesterday because I was out doing some groceries. I decided to take a photograph simply because this carnival is sort of a tradition and I wanted to share.

What amazes me the most is how quickly the carnival moves in and out of the parking lot. There is a wide variety of rides including a ferris wheel, bumper cars, and even a mini vertical drop ride. Clearly, there is a ton of moving parts and a standard of safety must be achieved. It actually sort of reminds me of my time in elementary school back in the Philippines; a similar carnival would come every October complete with rides and parlor games. It was the best part of every year in my school, apart from the non-school days like summer break. Good times all around.

I took this photograph in HDR using the iPhone. It makes it rather easy to use HDR as all you have to do is point and shoot. I used HDR mainly because the sky would blow out if I focused on the rides or the rides would become silhouettes if I focused on the sky. I did a bit of editing using Best Camera and blew out a bit of the sky but maintained some detail. I haven’t much else to say about the photograph so here it is.

20110321-095612.jpg

Notes:

Taken with iPhone 4.
Edited with Best Camera App for iPhone.

This entry was published on March 22, 2011 at 12:00 am. It’s filed under iPhone Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

