Joy

The year was 2009.  It was January.  My cousin’s wife had just given birth to their second son.  They had just told me that I would be one of the godfathers.  I was quite overjoyed and honoured.  My family paid a visit to my cousin so we could see the newborn.  Being the proud godfather that I was, I brought my DSLR.  We arrived,and we found out that he was napping.  What I felt when I saw him was peace.  The closed eyes and deep breathing showed, obviously, not a care in the world.  I was also surprised at the amount of hair on his head for a baby that was merely a few days old.  No surprises, I set about to take photos.

Taking the photograph felt natural to me.  Seeing him compelled me to take photos of him.  But what angle should I do it from?  What orientation?  I had to envision what I wanted the final product to look.  Close up.  Right up to his face.  Orientation had to be landscape.  A portrait orientation would yield unnecessary tension.  I had to get low, almost like a parent sleeping beside their child.  I snapped the photograph.  I left it alone for a long time.  Who knows why?  Maybe life happened and I didn’t really get a chance to reflect on the image itself.  Today though, I had plenty of time to consider what I wanted to do with the final product.

I hadn’t really done anything with the photograph other than print the original in colour for my cousins as a present.  I didn’t feel like the original conveyed the right emotions.  I pushed it through Photoshop.   The photograph had to be black and white; black and white, to me, elicits a nostalgic, almost old-time feel to the photograph.  I made his face lighter; he’s merely a few days old.  Innocent as can be.  Making his face lighter made his face seem almost angelic.  His hair is jet black and I wanted to keep it that way.  I want you to feel the same way I felt when I was there, watching him sleep.  I want you to look at his face and feel the innocence.  I, then, want you to look at his hair and be surprised at its volume and density.  Most importantly, I want you to feel what I felt when I heard that I would be a godfather:  joy.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II.
Shutter Speed: 1/20s.
Aperture: f/1.8.
ISO 100.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

 

This entry was published on March 25, 2011 at 12:01 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

