Weekly Photo Challenge: Ocean

This week’s photo challenge is Ocean.  It’s rather ironic though that Vancouver doesn’t face the Pacific Ocean.  Vancouver Island is in the way.  Vancouver faces the Strait of Georgia.  Oddly enough, I’ve met quite a few Vancouverites who firmly believe that the Pacific Ocean is the body of water just off the coast only to have their beliefs dashed by me.  Anyway, the photo for today is the sunset at English Bay in downtown Vancouver.  While it may not be the ocean, the very idea of the ocean reminds me of this place and this photograph because of the very reason I just mentioned.

It was September of 2009.  My best friend and I had just had dinner.  We had japadogs off the street and proceeded to walk a mile or so to the seawall at English Bay.  We arrived and the sun was very much on its way down.  Sunset doesn’t last very long.  You have maybe a minute from when the sun hits the horizon, and when it disappears out of view.  So we had to hurry.  I brought my tripod along because I was expecting to do some night photography as well.  I got my tripod set up, and my camera along with it.  I decided the long lens would better work for the situation because there were distractions if I used a shorter and wider lens.  As I got set up, I noticed a boat was going to pass in front of the sun, so I decided that it would be cool to wait for it and snap a photograph.  I took the shot and we merrily went on our way to find other subjects to photograph.

I was quite happy until I realized that I had set the ISO on my camera much too high at a whopping 1600.  So I knew that the photograph was going to be very noisy.  To top it all off, the long zoom lens flared so I had to perform some serious Photoshop manipulation to get rid of the flare while making it look like it wasn’t Photoshopped.  I messed up.  I didn’t make sure my settings were all sorted out and forgot that a zoom lens can have that headache inducing flare.  But that moment could never be had again.  The lighting was perfect.  The sky became very red.  The water stayed very much a blue shade and the cloud formations made the whole scene surreal.  I figured that with those characteristics, I could ignore the fact that the noise could have never been there.  In retrospect, however, I don’t think I would have been able to achieve such colours and effects if it hadn’t been for the 1600 ISO.

 

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 USM III  at 300mm.
Shutter Speed: 1/320s.
Aperture: f/11.0.
ISO 1600.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on March 27, 2011 at 12:03 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Ocean

  1. Pingback: Red Slippers « Photography at the Speed of Life

  2. elmer on said:

    i love shooting sunsets. this one is perfect

Leave a Reply

