Photograph Like No One’s There

When I bring around my DSLR, I feel self-conscious of the people watching me as I take photographs.  Perhaps it’s the fear that people will get angry if they feel like I’m photographing them without their consent.  Maybe it’s also because people think it’s weird that I would crane over a hedge, or walk on mud just to get the angle I want.  It’s a myriad of reasons, and I simply want to say that it’s all worth it.  You’ve got to be convicted in what you photograph otherwise you miss out on a possibly beautiful photograph.

In this case, I was at the bus terminal at UBC a year and a half ago.  As one gets off the bus and heads toward the Student Union Building, there is a bit of landscaping that was done and one of the plants and I saw a curious looking fruit.  The stark contrast between the green leaves and red fruit caused me to spring forth into photographing-like-no-one’s-there mode.

I had brought my DSLR with me because I needed it for a project that I was going to have for an education class.  I did the natural thing I would do for photographing: get close.  Getting close afforded a greatly narrowed depth of field so I could isolate what the viewer would see in-camera.  That would require standing right up to the plant and bending towards it.  It’s not a terribly comfortable way of photographing, and it was sort of ostentatious because it’s a high traffic area.  I simply told myself that the likelihood of people remembering the person with the camera is very close to nil so I worked up the nerve to actually get the angle I wanted.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II.
Shutter Speed: 1/400s.
Aperture: f/5.6.
ISO 100.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on March 30, 2011 at 12:01 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

