Leafy Silhouette

I took this photograph with colour film when it really should have been black and white. At the time, I was trying to burn the colour film in camera so I took the shot, knowing full well that I could convert to black and white using Photoshop. So that’s what I did, and what you see here is the final product, after a bit of cropping.

I wanted to create an image that only hinted at what it is. Sure we can see that they are leaves, but are they real or plastic? Do they come from a tree or a shrubbery? If it is from a tree, then what kind of tree is it? I want the viewer of this photograph to wonder. I also want the viewer to wonder what else this photograph could be. Much like cloud formations, I want you, my audience, to tell me what else you see.

What about the negative space? That is, what kind of forms can you see using the leaves as the outline? There may be something, or just plain nothing. Maybe nothing is recognizable, but that’s the beauty of it. Each person’s seeing is different from one another. What one may perceive as a random array of leaves, may have some significant meaning to another.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS 650.
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II.
Fuji Velvia 50.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on April 3, 2011 at 12:01 am. It’s filed under Film Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Leafy Silhouette

  1. You were successful. I looked at the picture before reading and started wondering what kind of plant that was. They look like… maybe rose leaves or something. Great shot! It’s really cool (:

Leave a Reply

