Things Come in Threes

While looking around the Museum of Anthropology at UBC, I came upon a distinct patterning of some sculptures.  Hewn directly from a log with distinct similarities and differences, I set off to find the right angle to photograph.  What they are, actually, I cannot remember.  I neglected to photograph the display card in front of these sculptures.  I tried looking up the sculptures on the MoA’s website, but they have tens of thousands of pieces and it would not be feasible to look through them.  What I can see from my photograph though, is that they were probably canoes or something of the sort.

In any case, I’ve said before that things always seem to come in threes.  This one is no exception.  There were three sculptures, so I had to determine the proper angle at which to showcase the repetition.  In this case, cascading from right to left was the prime option because of how they were displayed, and how I initially envisioned it.  The idea was to lead the from right to left counting the three similar wooden sculptures.

Then there was the issue of the background.  I could not avoid not taking a photograph of the canoe behind the three main subjects so I burned it to the same tonality of the surrounding concrete almost like camouflage.  The eye notices higher contrast contrast areas much more than low contrast areas so I at least put the attention on the main subjects first and then the background canoe is a surprise later.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 at 44mm.
Shutter Speed: 1/30.
Aperture: f/5.0.
ISO 400.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on April 10, 2011 at 7:20 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

