Cherry Blossoms, Up Close

The cherry tree right outside my home in Vancouver finally had its full bloom.  The tree produces white cherry blossoms around the same time every year depending on how cold it is.  This year, it has been particularly cold so the cherry blossoms came in a little bit late.  I’ve posted photographs of the blossoms from the same tree before and those were taken in mid March of 2010, quite early in my opinion.

At any rate, I’ve always photographed cherry blossoms from a little ways away and I decided to make a change.  I wanted to do a macro shot.  This meant actually plucking a twig with blossoms from the tree itself.  So I did.  Lens choice was my next focus.  A while ago, I purchased a Lensbaby Composer with an accompanying set of close-up filters so it became possible for me to do a bit of macro photography.  This was my weapon of choice for the task at hand.

This lens is very rudimentary from what I’ve been using because there is no electrical contact between the body of my DSLR and the lens itself so everything is done manually from adjusting focus to even changing aperture.  Fun times indeed.  But really, all I did was adjust aperture, compose, and then move the blossoms back and forth to get the right focus.  It was easier that way, really.  Anyway, what you see below is what I captured.

It’s in colour because I wanted to feature the stamens of the middle blossom.  They had a nice and vibrant pink colour to them and I wanted to contrast that with the white of the blossoms themselves.  I photographed near a window with natural light because flash would have created ugly shadows and ruined the image.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Lensbaby Composer with +10 Close Up Filter
Shutter Speed:  1.3s.
Aperture: f/11.0
ISO 100.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on April 12, 2011 at 12:01 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

