Red Slippers

Very few people are willing to have me take their photograph.  I’ m not certain why.  It might be the fact that my DSLR is a little disconcerting.  Maybe it’s just that people are uncomfortable with me taking their photograph.  I’ve stayed away from people photography not because I don’t want to, but because I’m often not given the opportunity to photograph people.  There is one person who’s always been willing to have me take her photograph.  She also happens to be one of my closest female friends.

It was September of 2009 when this photograph was taken.  We had decided to hit the beach around sunset to do some photographing of the landscape.  A photo of that setting sun can be seen here.  After the sun had set, we stayed a bit longer at the beach to chat and enjoy the last bit of daylight before the Vancouver Rain Festival got into full gear.  But chatting can only really last so long.  I wanted to snap more photos.  So I asked her to walk across the beach in front of my camera.  I asked her to bring her shoes with her because they were delightfully red.

So on she walked in however way she preferred because she asked and I said “whatever works for you”.  I snapped the photograph and all was said and done.  Later on in the evening after getting home, I took a second look at the photograph.  In full colour, the vibrance of the red shoes simply didn’t appear.  I decided to not use this photograph.

So why use it now?  To be honest, I was really just looking for a photograph to use.  I hadn’t been out shooting in a while and my stock of photographs is running a little dry.  So I called my friend and asked her if I could use this photograph of her on my blog.  She obliged and I set about trying to direct the eye to the shoes.  I desaturated the whole image and masked the area with the shoes.  What I succeeded in doing is add a pleasant surprise to a seemingly black and white silhouette of a girl walking quietly on a beach.

So this photograph is dedicated to that friend.  When it comes to friends, there’s really no one else like her.


Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 at 24mm.
Shutter Speed 1/5s.
Aperture: f/3.5.
ISO 100.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on April 19, 2011 at 12:01 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Red Slippers

  1. leanne on said:

    hello friend, beautiful picture.

    😉

  2. Kristin Brænne on said:

    ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

