Mail

This photograph is of a mailbox in an old building in the downtown area.  I wanted to take a whole photograph of the facade of the building itself but my lens was too narrow for such a photograph.  I would have had to cross the street and not fill my frame, or stand in the middle of a busy street.  It was definitely not something I was willing to do for the sake of self-preservation.

At any rate, I decided to take a photo of a small part of the big picture.  It makes one wonder about what the whole thing ought to look like.  I employ this technique often when I’m not equipped with the proper lens for the photograph I need.  That happens quite often, I find.  Camera equipment is expensive.

Nevertheless, I make do with what I have and just shoot.  The best way to learn to become a better photographer is to simply go out there and shoot.  Staying at home and lamenting the lack of “good” equipment is useless.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS 650.
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II.
Kodak T-MAX 100.

This entry was published on May 24, 2011 at 7:44 am. It’s filed under Film Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

