Bronze Pietà

When I was in The Grotto in Oregon two months ago, I took the time to go to the upper sanctuary.  Off to the side is The Grotto’s Meditation Chapel.  I entered the chapel and saw a bronze replica of a statue I had only ever seen somewhere else:  Rome.  Michaelangelo, at age 24, created the Pietà out of marble and the statue itself is now housed in St. Peter’s Basilica in the Vatican.  Where the original was a bony white, this one was a dark brown.

I had to snap a photograph.  I snapped one.  The statue was too dark.  I twiddled with the metering on my camera.  I snapped again.  Still too dark.  The brilliant sky outside was overpowering the dark colour of the statue.  I had no choice, I had to blow out the background to stark white to feature the detail that the bronze cast.  I deliberately overexposed.  It worked better than I hoped.  The overpowering brightness of the background sort of gives that mysterious majestic feeling.  It also keeps one’s eyes on the statue itself.  There’s nothing else to see.  No sky, and very little background information.  Just the statue.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6  at 18mm.
Shutter Speed: 1/60s.
Aperture: f/5.0.
ISO 100.
Exposure Compensation: +1.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on June 6, 2011 at 8:12 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Bronze Pietà

  1. This is stunning! Excellent job

Leave a Reply

