Since I Couldn’t Be Home for Canada Day

I celebrated the Fourth of July with my cousins and pretended that I travelled three days in the past. So today is sort of a Happy Canada Day and Happy Fourth of July greeting to all of you.

Naturally, there were fireworks so I borrowed my cousin’s tripod and set about photograping fireworks.  It was a twenty minute show and I took something like 80 pictures.

My version of fireworks photography is very much all about volume, and luck.  Take as many photos as you can and hope you get a few really good ones.

Our perch was a little far away from the fireworks itself and there was a lot of light pollution.  My success rate was lower than usual.  I did get some really good ones.  Some aggressive cropping and contrast adjustment was all that was really necessary.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 at 28mm.
Shutter Speed: 5.0s.
Aperture: f/11.0.
ISO 100.
Edited with GIMP 2.

This entry was published on July 5, 2011 at 7:34 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Since I Couldn’t Be Home for Canada Day

  1. Rose Vicente on said:

    This is a beautiful picture. My first thought is a graceful ballet dancer in a pirouette. Mom

Leave a Reply

