Rounded Hexagons

Today, I bring to you rounded hexagons in black and white.  As we left the Port of Seattle to go on our Alaskan Cruise, it was surprisingly sunny.  The sun was reflecting off the surface of the sea.  Now the sea dips and undulates constantly.  In fact, we can model those dips and undulations incredibly accurately.  Just look at computer generated images of water in computer games.  Anyway, because of the various heights of the water, the sunlight that reflects off the surface of the sea sparkles.

I had this amazing idea:  why not take a photograph?  So I did.  I didn’t let the auto-focus assist me.  I turned it off.  I focused my camera as if to shoot something far, far away.  Now the sea was no more than 30 feet below me as I was on the lower observation decks.  So everything blurs out:  the sea, the dips and undulations, the sparkling lights.  Now, depending on the type of lens that one’s camera carries, one will see different shapes.  In this case, I got rounded hexagons because the diaphragm of the lens has 6 rounded blades.  I have a lens that has 5 straight blades so it will generate pentagons instead.  In fact, one can get perfect circles just by keeping the lens wide open and not closing the aperture.  I chose to close the aperture so that there would be some interesting geometries involved.  I also asked my camera to shoot at a very fast shutter speed so the sea would be black, and the sunlight would be white.  That way, converting to black and white in software would be easier later on.

At any rate, I hope you enjoyed this really cool abstract photograph.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM at 109mm.
Shutter Speed: 1/400s.
Aperture: f/10.0.
ISO 100.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on August 15, 2011 at 8:49 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Rounded Hexagons

  1. What a great capture, I do like it!

Leave a Reply

