Tiered Building

I was going to have dinner with my buddy from Edmonton a couple of days ago and he was late for the time we had appointed to meet for dinner.  Apparently he was held up by the rush hour traffic of downtown Vancouver.  Understandably, I waited patiently.  As I waited, I decided to take a look at the various buildings that downtown Vancouver had to offer.

I looked straight up and saw this tiered building. I immediately had to take a photograph.  The sun was shining so that one side was very bright while the other was darker.  I decided that a black and white photograph would eventually come from this so I snapped the photograph and pushed it through Photoshop.  The awesome part about editing this photograph is that the sky was actually a light shade of blue.  I twiddled the settings for black and white so it prioritized red instead of blue so the sky immediately went dark as if it was night.  Not only that, it provided the greatest amount of contrast between the walls and the windows of the building.  Lastly,  I added a bit of brown tint to the image because I figured that black  and white was much too plain for my needs.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM at 117mm.
Shutter Speed: 1/200s.
Aperture: f/6.3.
ISO 100.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on September 2, 2011 at 10:48 pm. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Tiered Building

  1. wow…the building looks like it is built out of blocks…
    This is an interesting photo. Keep up the good work!

  2. margaret murphy on said:

    Very cool decisions; this is your best picture so far.

Leave a Reply

