Wedding Cupcake

One of my cousins got married to the “American man of her dreams” yesterday.  I was asked to photograph the little details and doodads involved in the wedding; these were things like the dress, shoes, gifts, centre pieces, table settings, programmes, and the like.  I was also tasked with taking candid photographs of the evening and the morning prior which was full of drama, but that’s another story.

At any rate, one of the many doodads that I photographed included the “wedding cake”.  Well, it wasn’t really a whole cake more than it was multiple small fist sized vanilla and red velvet (I think) cupcakes.  They were arranged to look like a tiered cake, and was topped off with a one layer cake which the bride and groom cut.  After they had cut and fed each other a piece of the cake, as bride and groom are wont to do during their wedding reception, the emcee announced for the guests to each partake in… well… a cupcake.

I waited for the crowd to clear before I made my move to go for one of the many cupcakes left over.  I took my time, looking for the cupcake whose icing wasn’t totally mangled on the sides.  I made my choice.  I took it.  I walked back to my assigned table dubbed with the local hockey team’s logo and name (the rest of the tables were dubbed with different hockey teams with the presidential table dubbed with the bride and groom’s favourite team).

Now, the seats at the reception were upholstered with a red fabric and the tables were covered with white tablecloth.  Since my cupcake was white, I decided that placing it on the chair would be the right thing to do.  I mean, white on white would provide virtually no contrast and would give no “pop” to the cupcake.  I set it down.  I took a shot.  Too bright.  Direct flash will just not do.  So I twiddled my external flash unit’s angle so the flash wouldn’t be directly on the cupcake.  I took a shot.  Perfect.  The red fabric was a little dark, but that could easily be fixed in software.

So this one’s for S and R; I hope you two have a wonderful journey as husband and wife.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM at 38mm.
Shutter Speed: 1/60s.
Aperture: f/4.0.
ISO 100.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on September 4, 2011 at 9:35 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

