Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

To mark the official first day of fall, I have answered this week’s photo challenge yet again. In this case, this photograph was taken almost a year ago. Taken with a film camera, in November of 2010, I took a liking to the bright and beautiful red that the leaves had taken so I got up close and snapped a photograph of it, burning a precious slide of Velvia 50. It came out as vibrant as I wanted it to come out so it was a good capture.

Film does that, I suppose. It makes you consider what exactly is worth photographing. So I find that I get a lot more keepers when I shoot with film. Every time I depress the shutter release, I hear a coin dropping because that’s what it costs me up front to snap a photograph with film. Then I realize that storing digital photographs is much the same really. The cost of digital photography is the storage itself: hard drives, redundant safety features, cloud based storage, and the like. Maybe I should shoot with film more often.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS 650.
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II.
Fuji Velvia 50.

This entry was published on September 23, 2011 at 10:47 pm. It’s filed under Film Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

Leave a Reply

