My Guitar

All through high school, there was one thing that got me through the, at the time, really bad days.  I played my guitar.  Playing my guitar put me in my own world.  It put me in a place where I could simply be me.  I played what I wanted to play and when I wanted to play it.  I let my fingers pluck the strings and all my troubles would disappear.

I got this guitar because of a small accident involving an older guitar of mine.  I had left my guitar in the school’s music room and unfortunately, someone tripped over it and cracked the neck.  My music teacher at the time graciously offered to replace my guitar.  A few weeks later, he made good with his promise and I received my guitar.  I promised myself that I would put it to good use because my teacher, in all of his kindness, did not at all need to have my guitar replaced.  Yet he did.  I thank him sincerely for that.

After high school, it seemed that life had caught up to me and I had sort of stopped playing guitar for a while.  I mean, I would pick it up every now and then but I started having interests in another art form:  photography.  So when I finally got a camera, I set about to photograph my beloved guitar.  Here is one of many photographs I took of my guitar.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 at 52mm.
Shutter Speed: 1/60s.
Aperture: f/5.6.
ISO 100.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on December 2, 2011 at 9:04 pm. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “My Guitar

  1. That’s so cool. That’d be really dumb to have someone just break your guitar…especially if it had any sentimental value to it. That’s way awesome of your teacher. I play guitar for the college jazz band where I live and i’m loving it, but i’d probably be way mad if someone just tripped and broke my guitar neck.

Leave a Reply

