Coq Au Vin

Whenever I’m at a restaurant with friends, I let them decide what to order first.  I never reveal what I’m going to eat until I’m about to order.  I make sure I order last.  They all hate me for it but I always give them the same rationale.

I let my friends order first because I want them to eat what they want to eat.  Me, I’ll always find at least three or four things on the menu that I would want to eat it’s never been a problem.  This way, if someone chooses my first choice, I move on to my second and third if necessary.  Now, I just simply order the same thing that my friends ordered but that would be boring.  The way I see it, if one is at a restaurant with friends and/or family, then choosing different menu offerings lets at least someone get a taste of what the restaurant has to offer.  This way, if ever any of the people want to plan a get together at the same restaurant, they’ll have an idea of how the food was and not just what they ordered the first time.

Anyway, I was simply out having a catch up dinner with a friend I hadn’t seen in months and I went through this whole rationale with her.  In my mind, I had chosen to go for a duck entrée.  I had chosen the coq au vin and pasta putanesca as my second and third choice.   I mean, there were only two of us so two choices would have mathematically guaranteed that I got a different meal from my friend but I chose three out of habit.  She decided that she would go with the duck so then I went to my second choice.  What you see below is how the chef presented said meal.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 at 42mm.
Shutter Speed: 1/60s.
Aperture: f/5.0.
ISO 100.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on December 14, 2011 at 11:01 pm. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Coq Au Vin

  1. hmmmm . . . interesting

Leave a Reply

