Tiramisu

Before I begin, what is it with gooseberries that make them such a popular garnish on desserts?  I don’t particularly find them appetizing but they are quite ornate.  Then an alternate question is why even eat the garnish?  I mean, it’s there and edible so why not.   I’ve had a flower as garnish for a meal before and obviously I didn’t eat it but if you’re going to garnish dessert with fruit, why a gooseberry?

At any rate, this photo, albeit a late one, is a slice of tiramisu I had while having dinner with my family and my cousin and her parents that visited about a week ago.  They had decided to come right in the middle of the yearly Dine Out Vancouver event so I chose a restaurant where we would eat and have a good time.  I had never been to this restaurant so I was a little leery about how the first impression and meal would be.  It turned out to be this cute little restaurant in downtown Vancouver that had an amazingly Italian feel.  Admittedly, it is an Italian restaurant.  The menu offerings they provided for the three course dinner were superb and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal.  It was indeed a happy and fun time.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 at 18mm.
Shutter Speed: 1/8s.
Aperture: f/3.5.
ISO 1600.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS4.

This entry was published on February 4, 2012 at 7:38 am. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

