Panorama from the Sky

Looking through all my old photographs, I noticed that I took a series of photos in portrait orientation of roughly the same thing.  Then I realized that I had taken overlapping shots of Washington State’s mountains from inside a plane intending to make a panorama because the mountains were just barely peeking through the clouds. They sort of looked like islands to me, stranded in the middle of a vast sea.

I then decided that the photograph should be in black and white to showcase the textures and the cragginess of the mountain peaks.  To keep my sanity, I used Photoshop’s photomerge tool and it worked quite nicely to me.  If you look closely, there’s some minor imperfections but otherwise the automatic process did its job and made a panorama ready for cropping to the appropriate size.



Notes:
Multiple shots taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
All shots recorded at the same setting shutter speed and aperture.
Shutter Speed: 1/200s.
Aperture: f/11.0.
ISO 100.
Edited and Stitched with Adobe Photoshop CS5.

This entry was published on February 23, 2012 at 10:18 pm. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

