I Wish I Had Taken More Physics

Specifically, I wish I had taken a course on optics.  I would then understand the inner workings of lenses, depth of field, and apertures.  I would also understand why depth of field shallows significantly the closer one gets to the subject.  Take for example this photo of a tulip that I took.  I was as close as I could possibly get which is about 1.5 feet and the depth of field was incredibly shallow; barely anything is in focus.  Granted, the aperture was almost wide open.  But really, I want to learn what governs these general rules that I follow when I photograph.  I think that it can only help me better my photographing.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II.
Shutter Speed: 1/640s.
Aperture: f/2.2.
ISO 100.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS5.

This entry was published on March 3, 2012 at 9:12 pm. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

