With a Chip

I’ve always been a fan of mango flavoured ice cream.  Most people claim that it’s because of my Filipino heritage that I love anything with mango in it.  Maybe it’s true; mangoes are quite delightful to have.  In any case, this scoop of mango ice cream came with a chip.  Why would it?

There’s actually quite a logical answer:  it’s because it adds texture.  While good, ice cream by itself doesn’t provide much texture other than the soft, smooth, and creamy way it feels in one’s mouth.  Adding a chip (or something crunchy for that matter) to provide a variety of textures can really add a whole new depth to a simple dessert like a scoop of ice cream.  I mean, that’s the main reason one would have dessert too, right?  It’s to have some variety over the savoury flavours had during the main course.

Notes:
Taken with Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi.
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 at 18mm.
Shutter Speed: 1/20s.
Aperture: f/3.5.
ISO 1600.
Edited with Adobe Photoshop CS5.

This entry was published on June 16, 2012 at 8:39 pm. It’s filed under DSLR Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “With a Chip

  1. That *would* be an interesting texture combination!

  2. I love mango flavored ice cream, too, and I’m not from the philipines. But I’ve never tried it with a chip. I’ll give it a go the next time I have ice cream. 🙂

    • I don’t remember what sort of chip it was but you can most definitely try a potato chip. I’ve seen people dip fries in chocolate ice cream before. It’s quite an interesting combination.

Leave a Reply

